New Zealand : A Practical Guide to the Legal Profession in some English-speaking countries and Ukraine - С.М. Воронин и др : Книги по праву, правоведение

New Zealand

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 
17 18 19 20 21 22 


the Privy Council – Таємна Рада / Тайный Совет

to run the government – керувати урядом / руководить правительством

- Where is New Zealand situated?

- New Zealand is an island country in the Southwest Pacific Ocean. It belongs to a large island group called Polynesia.

- What islands does the country consist of?

- It consists of two main islands – the North Island and the South Island – and several dozen much smaller islands.

- What is the capital of New Zealand?

- Wellington is.

- What form of government has New Zealand?

- New Zealand is a constitutional monarchy. The British monarch is the monarch of New Zealand. She appoints a Governor General to represent her, but he has little power. The legislature, the Prime Minister and the Cabinet run the national government.

- What body makes laws in New Zealand?

- New Zealand has a 97-member House of Representatives, also called Parliament. It is the law-making body.

- What does the executive branch of power consist of?

- It consists of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.

- Who becomes the Prime Minister?

- The leader of the political party that wins the most seats in a parliamentary election becomes the Prime Minister. He appoints a Cabinet to run the various government departments.

- What is the Opposition?

- The party that wins the second most seats in the election is called the Opposition.

- What courts are there in New Zealand?

- The Privy Council in Britain is New Zealand’s highest court, followed by the Court of Appeal in New Zealand. Both these courts hear only cases that have been appealed from a lower court. The High Court is the next highest court. It handles cases involving serious offences and most appeals from district courts. District courts, the lowest courts, hear most minor cases.

- What are the main political parties in New Zealand?

- They are the Labour Party and the National Party.